Monday, August 15, 2011


As summer wanes (and torrential downpours send us inside to curl up with good books!), here are a few new reviews for Julie Drew's debut novel, DAUGHTER OF PROVIDENCE. We're loving the great response to this gorgeous book, and we're giving away three autographed copies--leave a comment to win!


"Although Drew's haunting, mesmerizing debut focuses on a Rhode Island fishing town, in the summer of 1934, make no mistake: this is no "beach book.".... Social and personal turmoil cloud the story, as class and race conflict, the Great Depression, and labor strikes combine with intrigue and murder. Verdict: This atmospheric and compelling historical tale will surely sweep the reader into the past as Drew's word artistry paints a perfect poignant portrait of a bygone era."—Library Journal (starred review), full review here

"A sweeping drama ... Drew perfectly captures the old New England feel of her shore-town setting and lavishes attention on the period details that transport readers back to the 1930s. Anne Dodge is a richly drawn protagonist, caught in the conflicting responsibilities of early adulthood, and the secondary characters who populate the close-knit community give the novel further complexity. Fans of Tara Hyland and Elizabeth Bard will love this poignant page-turner that portrays the delicate intersections of loss, love, loyalty, betrayal, family, and identity."—Booklist, full review here

"The novel has a nice story and the writing and descriptive language helped readers visualize the story scene by scene. The description of the characters and, particularly, the budding relationship between the two sisters helped bring the words off the page and into the heart.... This book can be recommended for the poignant story with its not so fairytale unhappy ending. It reminds us of our own mortality and how the decisions we make truly affect the lives of those around us."—The Narragansett Times, full review here

"The themes of class relations and, especially, troubled economic times are relevant. Daughter of Providence is a great summer read."—The Akron Beacon Journal, full review here

"Anne is a sympathetic heroine, and Drew's storytelling is compelling."—The Cleveland Plain Dealer, full review here

No comments: